An Update on Pulling Taffy (and a Recipe)

frontwebblog

Hi, Friends of Taffy—I thought I’d let you know how Pulling Taffy the book is doing! I wouldn’t say that copies are flying off the shelves, but sales are definitely respectable. And they are growing.

The book includes all the blog entries from my year-long journey with you in 2011, plus a couple of journal entries I didn’t put up on the site. I have added a series of retrospective essays in response to readers’ suggestions. Some tell stories from my mother’s earlier life; one gives a few tips for caregivers. These essays appear at the end of each month’s journal entries. I loved writing them, and I hope you enjoy reading them.

After the essays I ended up adding recipes (one per month) for dishes that my mother enjoyed. I believe that food is a key to memory so remaking these with my family brought her back to us vividly. One of the recipes appears below here to give you a sneak preview.

I am getting a real kick out of my book-related events. So far I have spoken at a church, in libraries, and to women’s clubs. The format is simple: I talk a bit about Alzheimer’s disease and read a bit from the book. I then open the floor to the audience. It’s amazing how candid and moving people can be about their caregiving (and care-receiving) adventures. I have learned a lot from these events. And of course I have sold books at them!

Please continue to spread the word about Taffy and her story. Word of mouth really helps. Information about ordering the book (as well as the e- and audiobook versions) and details about upcoming events may be found at the Pulling Taffy website.

And now … the recipe for….

curryweb

Taffy’s Chicken Curry

This recipe appears at the end of a chapter about one of my mother’s favorite years, her time in India between 1953 and 1954. I call the chapter “A Passage to India.” I call the recipe delicious. And it’s delightfully simple.

Ingredients:

a little bit of olive oil or peanut oil
2 chicken breasts, cut in half
1 clove garlic, minced
1 small piece of ginger, minced
1 medium onion, minced
2 heaping teaspoons curry powder
2 heaping teaspoons cumin (use either powdered cumin or slightly crushed cumin seeds)
1 heaping teaspoon chili powder
salt and pepper to taste
2 cups chicken stock
1 small tomato, cut up
1 largish carrot, cut into small coins
the juice of 1 lemon

Instructions:

In a medium sauté pan or Dutch oven heat the oil over medium-high heat; then quickly brown the chicken pieces. Remove them to a plate. Place the garlic, ginger, and onion pieces in the pan. Sauté them until they begin to brown nicely. Sprinkle the curry powder, cumin, chili powder, and salt and pepper over the vegetables. Toss them over medium heat for a minute or two. You don’t want them to burn, but you do want them to form a kind of roux.

Pour in a little of the chicken stock to make a paste. Cook the paste for another minute or two; then return the chicken to the pot and add the rest of the stock, along with the tomato. Bring the liquid to a boil, cover the pot, and simmer the curry over low heat for 20 minutes. At the end of the 20 minutes throw in the carrot pieces and simmer the curry for at least 20 minutes longer, still covered. Just before serving stir in the lemon juice.

Serve over rice along with chopped peanuts, coconut, chutney, and yogurt. In our family this serves 4 people. If you have major chicken eaters either plan on serving 2 or double the recipe.

The library publicist might have gotten a LITTLE carried away advertising my talk last month!

The library publicist might have gotten a LITTLE carried away advertising my talk last month!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mytaffypull.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/an-update-on-pulling-taffy-and-a-recipe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I recently gave a copy of your book to the library here at our new continuing care retirement center (The Heritage at Brentwood). Since I’m on the library committee, I notice what comes and goes.

    Your book has been checked out several times! Just thought you’d like to know.

    GH

    • That’s music to my ears, Gaye. Thank you again for ordering it!

  2. Wonderful!! I love the cover!!!!!!!

    • So do I. (I know, modesty is not my forte.)

  3. I’ve recommended your book to our library system. I never thought about it for retirement homes, as someone in the comments mentioned. I’ll do that, as well.
    Let’s get those books flying!

    • Thanks for the support, Margie. From your lips….

  4. I love Indian food. That sign is hilarious. I will share this. Good luck with the book!!!

  5. Thank you, new kid!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

